API Spec Q1 9th Edition

API's Spec Q1, is the American Petroleum Institute's Specification for Quality Programs for the Petroleum & Natural Gas Industry. Organizations seeking approval to use the API Monogram mark on their products must comply with the API Spec. Q1 and the applicable API product specification requirements. Companies that either manufacture products to API specifications, or provide industry services not covered by an API standard, can apply for API Spec Q1 Registration. This standard is based on ISO 9001 but includes supplemental requirements specific to the industry. API also offers a dual certification with the ISO 9001 Standard.

API Spec Q2 First Edition

This specification is a Quality Management System Requirements for Service Supply Organization for the Petroleum and Natural Gas Industries; this standard defines the quality management system requirements for service supply organizations for the petroleum, and natural gas industries. It is intended to apply to the execution of services during exploration, development and production in the oil and gas industry. This includes activities involved in upstream oil and gas well construction, intervention, production, and abandonment; applies to activities associated with well servicing, equipment repair/maintenance, and inspection activities; also, specifies requirements of a quality management system for an organization to demonstrate its ability to consistently provide services that meet customer, legal, and other applicable requirements.

ISO 14001

ISO 14001 specifies requirements for an environmental management system to enable an organization to develop and implement a policy and objectives which take into account legal requirements and other requirements to which the organization subscribes, and information about significant environmental aspects. It applies to those environmental aspects that the organization identifies as those which it can control and those which it can influence. It does not itself state specific environmental performance criteria.

ISO 14001 is applicable to any organization that wishes to establish, implement, maintain and improve an environmental management system, to assure itself of conformity with its stated environmental policy, and to demonstrate conformity with ISO 14001 by

All the requirements in ISO 14001 are intended to be incorporated into any environmental management system. The extent of the application will depend on factors such as the environmental policy of the organization, the nature of its activities, products and services and the location where and the conditions in which it functions.

ISO TS16949 (Previously QS9000)

QS-9000, implemented in 1994 and revised in 1998, is an Industry Specific Standard developed by the big three automotive manufacturers (Ford, GM and Daimler Chrysler), to provide one common quality system for suppliers, not three. QS-9000 has also been adopted as the standard by many truck manufacturers including Mack, Volvo, Freightliner, GM and Navistar.

QS-9000 is on ISO 9001:2008 and contains supplemental requirements specific to the automotive industry. The objective of QS-9000 is to develop a quality system geared toward continuous improvement, prevention of nonconformance, and scrap and rework reduction at suppliers. QS-9000 is supported by a set of additional manuals issued by the AIAG (PPAP, APQP, MSA, FMEA and SPC).

In April 2002, representatives of the International Automotive Task Force (IATF) and the International Automotive Oversight Bureau (IAOB) announced that QS-9000:1998 will be phased out, no longer being valid after December 15, 2006, and will be replaced with the new ISO/TS 16949:2002 standard. QS-9000 certified companies cannot claim certification to ISO 9001/2:1994 after December 15, 2003 and may need to gain a separate ISO 9001:2008 certificate.


AS9000, Aerospace Basic Quality System Standard, was developed by a group of US aerospace prime contractors, including Allied-Signal. Allison Engine Company, Boeing, General Electric Aircraft Engines, Lockheed Martin. McDonnell Douglas, Northrop Grumman, Pratt Whitney, Rockwell Collins, Sikorsky Aircraft, and Hamilton Sundstrand. Significantly, the US government was not actively involved in the AS9000 standard's development. AS9000 was developed and issued under the auspices of the Society of Automotive Engineers.

The intent and concept behind AS9000 are similar to Boeing's D1-9000. The standard is based in ISO 9000, with 27 additional requirements unique to the aerospace industry. The intent is to standardize and streamline many of the other aerospace quality management standards.


The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (A.S.M.E) is a professional body, specifically an engineering society, focused on mechanical engineering. The ASME was founded in 1880 in response to numerous steam boiler pressure vessel failures. The organization is known for setting codes and standards for mechanical devices. The ASME conducts one of the world's largest technical publishing operations through its ASME Press, holds numerous technical conferences and hundreds of professional development courses each year, and sponsors numerous outreach and educational programs.

ASME Codes and Standards

ASME is one of the oldest and most respected standards-developing organizations in the world. It produces approximately 600 codes and standards, covering many technical areas, such as boiler components, elevators, measurement of fluid flow in closed conduits, cranes, hand tools, fasteners, and machine tools. Note that:

  • A Standard can be defined as a set of technical definitions and guidelines that function as instructions for designers, manufacturers, operators, or users of equipment.
  • A standard becomes a Code when it has been adopted by one or more governmental bodies and is enforceable by law, or when it has been incorporated into a business contract.